Eligible residents who wish to run for city offices in the Nov. 2, 2021, general municipal elections must qualify with their respective cities.

The qualifying period runs from Monday, Aug. 16 to Wednesday, Aug. 18.


The city of Buford will elect two city commissioners and two school board members in November, all serving four-year terms. The commission seats are currently held by Chris Burge and Bradley W. Weeks, while the school board posts are held by Bruce Fricks and Pat Pirkle. 

The qualifying fee for these offices is $35. 

To be eligible to seek office in the city of Buford, prospective candidates must have been a legal resident of the city for at least six months, be a citizen of the United States and have never been convicted and sentenced in any court for a fraudulent violation of primary or election laws, malfeasance in office or felony involving moral turpitude or conviction of domestic violence. If convicted, at least 10 years must have passed  from the date of the completion of the sentence. Prospective candidates must not be a defaulter for any federal, state, county, municipal or school system taxes.

Residents can qualify for the November municipal election from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily from Monday, Aug. 16, to Wednesday, Aug. 18, at Buford City Hall, 2300 Buford Highway. 

For more information on qualifying, call 770-945-6761 or visit 

Sugar Hill 

The city of Sugar Hill will fill three positions during the November elections, including the position of mayor, currently held by Steve Edwards, and two city council seats, Post 4 held by Nic Greene and Post 5 held by Taylor Anderson. Candidates for city council must declare which post they plan to seek during qualification.

Qualifying will be held from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily Aug. 16 through 18 at Sugar Hill City Hall, 5039 W. Broad St., in the office of City Clerk Jane Whittington.  

Qualifying fees are $162 for mayor and $108 for city council. 

For more information on qualifying, call 770-945-6716 or visit the city’s website at


Suwanee residents will vote this November to fill three city council seats — Post 3 held by Linnea Miller, Post 4 held by Beth Hilscher and Post 5 held by Pete Charpentier. Qualifying fees are $270. 

To run for the office of mayor or for city council, candidates must be a city of Suwanee resident for at least 180 days prior to qualifying, continue to reside in the City throughout their period of service and be qualified to vote in municipal elections.

Prospective candidates can qualify from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily from Monday, Aug. 16, to Wednesday, Aug. 18, at Suwanee City Hall, 330 Town Center Ave.

For more information, call 770-945-8996 or visit 

Register to vote

The last day to register to vote in city elections is Monday, Oct. 4. Registration forms are available  at the Gwinnett County Elections Office at 455 Grayson Highway, Suite 200, in Lawrenceville, and online through the Georgia Secretary of State’s website at 

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Deanna Allen has served as editor of the North Gwinnett Voice since June 2021. Effective communication and creative design are her passions.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by ExactMetrics