The Vote 2020

LAWRENCEVILLE — The Voter Registrations and Elections Office is providing opportunities for voters in Gwinnett County to cast their ballots before the August 11 runoff election. The deadline for registration in order to vote and gain eligibility for casting a ballot in the August 11 General Primary and Nonpartisan Runoff Election is Monday, July 13. If one did not vote in the June 9 primary election, they are still eligible to vote in this runoff election if they are registered. 

Those who are eligible to vote may do so in advance and in-person every day including weekends from July 20 to August 7, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Voter Registrations and Elections office located at the Beauty P. Baldwin building at 455 Grayson Highway, Suite 200 in Lawrenceville. Satellite voting at four additional sites will begin August 1 and continue through August 7, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

Additional satellite locations include:

  • Bogan Park Community Recreation Center, 2723 N. Bogan Road, Buford 
  • George Pierce Park Community Recreation Center, 55 Buford Highway, Suwanee
  • Lenora Park Gym, 4515 Lenora Church Road, Snellville 
  • Lucky Shoals Park Community Recreation Center, 4651 Britt Road, Norcross 

Please note that the Gwinnett County Fairgrounds will not be an advance voting site for the runoff election.

If needed, voters may request an absentee/advance by mail ballot for the August 11 General Primary and Nonpartisan Runoff Election by Friday, August 7. The option of voting by mail is for all voters and not selective to those who will be out of town. Voters should keep in mind that before an absentee/advance by mail ballot can be issued, a completed application must first be received. Please call the Voter Registrations and Elections Office at 678-226-7210 to request an application or complete the form online.

Voters may return their completed absentee/advance by mail ballots through the mail or to one of the eight official ballot drop boxes. For ballots being returned to the drop boxes, a postage stamp is not required. The drop boxes feature 24-hour surveillance and will be available to all voters 24 hours, seven days a week beginning Saturday, July 11 through Tuesday, August 11 at 7 p.m. The drop boxes will be located at the Elections Office, the four satellite voting locations, as well as, the Dacula Park Activity Building, the Mountain Park Aquatic Center and the Shorty Howell Park Activity Building. 

In order to check your voter registration status or to view a sample ballot, you can visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter page, For more information or to stay up-to-date with elections in Gwinnett, follow @GwinnettGov on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram or visit

— Staff Reports


Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Anoshka Ramkumar is a student at North Gwinnett High School, Class of 2021. She is a published author and hopes to pursue a career in Media Journalism.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by ExactMetrics