Gary Ingram, who was set to run against L. Chris Burge, for his Buford City Commissioner seat was deemed ineligible to hold a public office.

Ingram was served with a charge letter Monday by the Buford Department of Public Safety Director, Dan Branch outlining the charges against him and was given a hearing on October 24, 2017, at the Buford City Hall.  Overseeing the hearing was the city’s Director of Municipal Elections, Mrs. Kim Wolfe.

Mr. Ingram failed to appear for this hearing where city attorney, Walt Britt presented to Mrs. Wolfe evidence and argument to support the charges against Ingram. The charges stem from the candidacy application that Gary Ingram filled out and filed with the city to run for the commission seat and are follows:

Count I. Qualified Resident and Elector

Count II. Eligibility for public office of persons convicted and sentenced for certain crimes, OCGAS 21-2-8 OCGAS 21-2-8

Count III. Eligibility for public office of persons illegally holding any public funds. OCGAS 21-2-8

After being presented with the evidence to counts against Ingram and since no defense was presented, the hearing was concluded. Upon Challenge To Qualifications Of Gary A. Ingram which Mrs. Wolf determined that Gary A. Ingram is not qualified to seek and hold the public office for which he was offering.

Since the seat held by Commissioner Burge was the only contested race in this year’s Buford elections, the city canceled the election. The city commission seat that newcomer, Brad Weeks will hold is that of Mrs. Michael Smith, who is retiring.  Chris Burge will hold on to his commission seat.  On the school board, seats held by Pat Pirkle and Bruce Fricks were both uncontested.


In Sugar Hill, the city elections are still underway.  Early voting and absentee mail-in voting will end November 3rd.

Both the current Mayor, Steve Edwards as well as the current Mayor Pro Tem, Curtis Northrup are running unopposed and will reclaim their offices.

The City Council Seat #5 is the only contested race of this election year.  Current Councilman, Mike Sullivan did not qualify for this election leaving room for two new candidates to campaign for this seat.  The candidates are Taylor Anderson and Joshua Mantz.  

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by ExactMetrics