By Alicia Couch Payne

TD Club
(L-R) Kameron Brown – Lanier – Linebacker of the Year, Tyler Goodson – North Gwinnett – Runningback of the Year, and Will Hamilton – North Gwinnett – Scholar Athlete show off their awards. Photo courtesy Felicia Goodson

On Monday evening, December 10, 2018, the Touchdown Club of Gwinnett honored the best of the best in high school football in our county at the Infinite Energy Center.  Buford, Lanier, and North Gwinnett were well represented at the TD awards. North Gwinnett led this trio with two players winning individual awards.

North Gwinnett’s Tyler Goodson won Running Back of the Year and fellow NG player, Josh Downs won Wide Receiver of the Year.  Kameron Brown from Lanier won Linebacker of the Year. Specialist of the Year award was won by Buford’s Quentin Skinner.

Other award recipients are listed below.  Congratulations to the players and coaches picking up an award.

All-County 1st Team – Offense:  RB Derrian Brown – Buford, WR Javonni Cunningham – North Gwinnett, TE Dom Maggio – Buford, OL Harry Miller – Buford, and PK Hayden Olsen – Buford

All-County 1st Team – Defense:  DL Chris Miles – North Gwinnett, OLB Phillip Webb – Lanier, ILB Nick Pucciarello – North Gwinnett, and DB Warren Burrell – North Gwinnett

All-County 2nd Team – Offense:  OL Riley Simonds – Buford and KR Nahil Perkins – Lanier

All-County 2nd Team – Defense:  DL Jalar Holley – Buford, DL Jared Ivey – North Gwinnett, and DB Quinton Newsome – North Gwinnett

Kevin Maloof Award (For player who puts team above himself):  Clayton Nelson – Buford, Jason Wallace – Lanier, and Major Carlberg – North Gwinnett

Cecil Morris Award (For all-county caliber player whose season was cut short by injury):  Carter Colquitt – Buford

Scholar-Athlete Award:  Harry Miller – Buford, Zach Calzada – Lanier, and Will Hamilton – North Gwinnett

Tally Johnson Award (Assistant Coach of the Year):  Tom Hall – Buford, Mike Dunning – Lanier, and Stevie Jackson – North Gwinnett

Honorable Mention All-County Selections:  T. Lee – Buford, Aaron McLaughlin – Buford, Seth McLaughlin – Buford, Jackson Powell – Buford, Zach Charles – Lanier, Jagger Jones – Lanier, Jake Ludwig – Lanier, Damian Nytko – Lanier, Justin Bullock – North Gwinnett, T.J. Skinner – North Gwinnett, Garrison Manor – North Gwinnett, and Bryson Scruggs – North Gwinnett

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by ExactMetrics