The Georgia All State Band final round of auditions were held on Saturday, Jan. 8, to select members for the 2022 Georgia All State Band. Without regard to their school’s classification, top band students from schools across the state auditioned, playing scales and etudes on their instruments for a chance to be recognized as one of Georgia’s elite middle and high school musicians. 

Buford Middle School All State Band students pose for a photo. Photo courtesy of BMS Band.

The weekend-long clinic, to be held Thursday through Saturday, March 3 through 5 at the Classic Center in Athens, will allow band students to rehearse under renowned conductors and present a cumulative concert on March 5.

Among this elite class, nine students from North Gwinnett High School, nine from Mill Creek High School, 10 from Buford High School and seven from Buford Middle School were selected for the honor of playing in one of the All State bands. Four area students were selected in the first chair placements, Yuna Lim from NGHS, Hannah Jung from BMS, and Kevin Jin and Reece Moseley from Mill Creek High School.

The 10 students selected from BHS represent the highest number of All State students from the school’s history, the highest number of students selected from one school in all of Gwinnett County and the fourth highest number of students from any one school in the whole state, with 97 schools having had students selected from their respective programs, plus an unknown number of schools who had no placement.

“This is the highest number I’ve ever had in my career,” said Erik Mason, director of bands at Buford High School. “I’m so proud of these students and am so excited for the future of the Buford Band.”

Congratulations to the area All State members for 2022 and their teachers.

From Buford High School

Joseph Her – Trumpet

Paul Kwak – Trumpet

Peter Kwak – Clarinet

Josh Lee – French Horn

Rowan Martin – Clarinet

Clay Mason – Trombone

Jimmy Ragazino – Euphonium

Gabriel Silva – Trombone

Jaden Vo – Percussion

Savanna Wachter – Flute

Ray Choi – Trombone alternate

Directors: Erik Mason, Bridget Wildes

From Buford Middle School

Brielle Browne – French horn

Olivia Duong – French horn

*Hannah Jung – Flute (first chair)

Joshua Kim – Clarinet

Miley Kim – Flute

Omar Saucedo – Trumpet

Marely Vargas – Flute

Director: Kathy Mason

From Dacula High School

Alexia Toma — Flute

Director: Brooke VanKempen

From Flowery Branch High School

Andrew Mayhew – Alto saxophone

Sam Malone — Flute

Will Sweet — Trumpet

Director: Dennis Naughton 

From Lanier High School

Morgan Nash — Trumpet

Director: Benjamin Tingle

From Lanier Middle School

Brian Choi – Clarinet

Director: ​James Stainback

From Mill Creek High School

Adam Conner – Clarinet

Suzanne Smith – Clarinet

James Armendariz – French horn

Kevin Jin — Clarinet (first chair)

Kayla Lim — Flute

*Reece Moseley — Principal percussionist

Michael Kaspro — Trumpet

Bradley Campbell — Trumpet

Alex Kahiga — Trombone

Margaret Ezell – Bassoon alternate

Tyler Whittaker – Clarinet alternate

Nate Hammond – Baritone saxophone alternate

Directors: Dean Patterson, Hannah Cavender

From North Gwinnett High School

Eunice Kim – Flute

Sanjita Prakash – Flute

*Yuna Lim – Oboe (first chair) 

Rachel Cho – Oboe 

Daniel Kim – Clarinet 

Ian Moon – Clarinet 

Cherilyn Kim – Flute 

Ashley Yoon – Flute 

Issac Jung – Percussion

Justin Oh – Trumpet alternate

Directors: Greg Gibson, Brandon Soloff

From North Gwinnett Middle School

Tristan Diaz – Percussion

Eileen Pak – Clarinet

Duchan Lee – French horn

Nathan Shin – Percussion alternate

Director: Travis Downs, Kevin Johnson

From Sugar Hill Christian Academy

Benjamin Jones — Trumpet (high school)

Jinho Byun — Trombone (middle school)

Director: Sherry Wiltshire

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Leave a Comment

Verified by ExactMetrics